Jane Clarke announced as winner of the Ireland Chair of Poetry 2022 Travel Award

The Ireland Chair of Poetry are delighted to announce Jane Clarke as the recipient of the 2022 Ireland Chair of Poetry Travel Award. Jane will receive an award of £2,000 to facilitate her journey to the Lake District.

Commenting on her award Jane had this to say: ‘I’m delighted and honoured to accept the Ireland Chair of Poetry Travel Award which will enable me to undertake a collaborative writing project with sheep farmer and author James Rebanks on his fell farm in the Lake District, Cumbria. We share a belief in the power of poetry and prose to engage hearts and minds in the work required to protect threatened landscapes, species and ways of life. We will present our work at the Burren Winterage Weekend in October 2022.’


Jane Clarke is the author of two collections, The River and When the Tree Falls (Bloodaxe Books 2015 & 2019), as well as an illustrated chapbook, All the Way Home, (Smith|Doorstop 2019). Jane’s awards include the 2016 Hennessy Literary Award for Poetry and the 2016 Listowel Writers’ Week Poem of the Year. The River was the first poetry collection ever shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Award, given for a distinguished work of fiction or non-fiction evoking the spirit of a place. Jane’s third collection A Change in the Air will be published by Bloodaxe in May 2023. www.janeclarkepoetry.ie