Who We Are

Trustees 1998-2021

The Ireland Chair of Poetry is governed by an independent Board of Trustees representing the five sponsoring bodies and a distinguished poet. Since the Board was set up in 1998, it has evolved and changed ensuring fairness and equality.

An Chomhairle Ealaíon
Professor Kevin Rafter*
Ms Sheila Pratschke
Ms Pat Moylan
Ms Olive Braiden
Mr Patrick Murphy
Professor Brian Farrell
Professor Ciarán Benson

Queen’s University, Belfast
Professor Fran Brearton*
Professor Ciaran Carson
Professor Robert J. McCormack

University College, Dublin
Professor Lucy Collins*
Professor Mary Clayton
Professor Brian McKenna
Professor Fergus D’Arcy
Professor Aidan Kelly

Arts Council Of Northern Ireland
Mr Liam Hannaway* (Chair)
Mr John Edmund
Mr Bob Collins
Ms Rosemary Kelly
Professor Brian Walker

Trinity College, Dublin
Professor Ignatius McGovern*
Professor Nicholas Grene
Professor Terence Brown
Professor Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin
Professor Cathal Ó Háinle
Professor Andrew Mayes

Sir Donnell Deeny*
Professor Michael Longley*
Professor Brian Walker*
Mr Adrian Hall
Mr John B. McGuckian
Professor Seamus Heaney

*Denotes current member